Before & after: mini walk-in-wardrobe

I am incredibly proud of my most recent achievement: building a walk-in-wardrobe!! Well, it is more like a cupboard, you can’t really walk into it – you can just set one step and that’s it – but still! I am proud and I want to share it. It took many tubs of polyfilla and sandpaper, sore arm muscles from wall papering and hanging shelves (straight!) and of course a lot of sweat and swearing. Glenn thought I had gone mad, wanting to transform an old dusty cupboard into a luxury retreat in the space of about 24 hours – but I did it.

The cupboard after taking everything out. It needed a piece of new plasterboard and just loads of polyfilla to smooth over bumps and cracks. I then painted the floor boards and the rest of the woodwork inside white.

On the back wall I put gold wall paper with floral pattern (Jonelle); on the right wall you see dark blue paper with gold and silver trees (B&Q). The tree paper was great as you only had to paste the glue on to the wall and not the paper which made the job a lot easier. The gold paper was an absolute nightmare…quite thick and heavy and hard to get smooth against a sloping roof…. (that’s where the sweating and swearing came in)

Result!!!

11 thoughts on “Before & after: mini walk-in-wardrobe

  1. Arcana Mundi says:

    Estimada señorita escocesa:Soy español, me llamo Néstor, vivo en las islas canarias y le escribo haciendo uso del traductor del Google que es horroroso… pero menos es nada.Estoy muy de acuerdo con usted cuando dice que hay que ser menos materialista y cuidar lo que ya tenemos. Lo bello de la vida no se halla en los grandes almacenes… aunque intenten hacernos creer que es así.Respecto a su armario.Sólo puedo decir que es una obra de arte.Es usted una mujer muy capaz,tiene arte.Saludos escocesa.Dear Miss Scotland: I am Spanish, my name is Nestor, living in the Canary Islands and I am writing to use the Google translator is horrible … but less is nothing. I very much agree with you when you said that there should be less materialistic and care what we already have. The beauty of life is not found in department stores … but try to make us believe that it is. Regarding your wardrobe. I can only say that it is a work of art. You are a very capable woman, has art. Scottish greetings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

