House tour: a mini tour around Nina’s own home

I love interior design, I love styling, my house is never finished. My style? I mix it up. A lot of customers ask if my house looks like my shop, full of vintage. Well, not quite! Of course we own some lovely mid-century furniture and quirky stuff, but I also have two little boys who like to run around with superhero swords and get their sticky fingers everywhere, so nothing can be too valuable and precious really. So I would call my style colourful, practical and vintage-meets-now. After all, I strongly believe that vintage furniture and decor should be functional rather than just to look at and not touch.

Built in bookcase, open plan living, wooden flooring, pappelina rug

We turned a 1960s dressing table into a small sideboard by taking off the mirror. A bunch of Ikea Billy bookcases got the ‘built in’ look by a local joiner (who also put in some awesome sliding pocket doors! NB: please ignore the absence of skirting boards, we’re on it!). A mid-century tea trolley makes a handy side table next to the sofa. A retro teak bookcase is now a great storage for my CD collection.

Last year we invested in a beautiful handmade wood and leather armchair by young Scottish designer Hugh Parsons.  Oh, and we LOVE art. We’re running out of wall space! I also collect mid-century ceramics, which are dotted all around the house. West German, Bitossi, Swedish pottery, I can’t get enough of it.

My interior often changes, but the style stays mainly the same. Being a vintage trader does help finding some cool things for your home, that’s for sure!

handmade wooden chair, grey wall, built in bookcase, wooden floor, oriental rug

Bitossi style lampbase with oatmeal linen shade

Leave a Reply

